I’ve been working on making my Google Plus (Google+) profile more accurate and now I am getting spammy messages from people via the profile. That stinks. How do I disable the ability for strangers sending me email because they’ve seen my Google Plus profile?
This is a bit confusing, but I think I know what you’re talking about nonetheless. One of the features of Google Plus is that people who aren’t in your circles and ostensibly have no connection to you other than that they’re seeing your profile can send you email messages. Turns out they can also send you G+ messages too, a separate feature, but they’re both easily disabled with the same solution.
On the other hand, this isn’t something that spammers can harvest with smart software so it’s really only something that should happen once in a blue moon. All the spammy messages I get are from people who don’t have the time or inclination to actually dig into my profile, find me on Google+, etc. In the years I have been involved with Google Plus, I think I’ve received a half-dozen external email messages from my public email link so I wonder if there’s something else at work here that is causing you to get so many messages?
Something you might want to consider. Compare what these spam messages are keying on (e.g. their theme or topic) versus the content you actually have on your profile?
Then again, you can just disable it pretty darn easily.
Start by clicking on “Home” on the left side of your Google Plus page. You’ll see a long list of options appear:
Choose “Settings” from the list after you’ve poked around and explored some of the other options presented (yeah, I know how it goes).
Once you do, you’ll be presented with a ridiculously long list of options and changes you can make to your account.
Me? I find it bewildering. 🙂
Scroll down and look for this section. It’s a ways down…
It’s the middle two that you care about: “Allow people to send you…”.
As you can see, I only allow people in my extended circles to send me messages, but I’ve set “Allow people to send you an email from your profile” to Public.
Fortunately, I can change it. A click on “Public” and the options are shown:
I recommend “extended circles” if you want some security from random folk, but “your circles” is a valid option too: If they aren’t someone you’ve already circled (e.g., followed) then they won’t see the email link. Easy.
Make the change and Google+ will instantly save it, as you’ll see in a tiny status update at the top of the page:
That’s it. Fixed.
If you bump into any other privacy or security issues with your Google Plus account, don’t forget you can pop back and ask. I spend a lot of time on Google Plus so have learned a lot about the ins and outs… 🙂