Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Webmail mailbox exceeds storage limit warning email? Huh?

I just got email from my system administrator saying that my Webmail account is out of space. This is really confusing, though, because I don't access my email via the Web. Is this legit or some sort of scam or phishing attempt?


Dave's Answer:

It's a phishing attempt. I get these every so often too. The most recent reads like this:


This message was sent automatically by a program on Webmail which periodically checks the size of inboxes, where new messages are received.

Your mailbox has exceeded the storage limit set by your administrator. You may not be able to send or receive new mail until your mailbox size is increased by your system administrator.

To help us re-set your SPACE on our database prior to maintain your INBOX,you must contact your system administrator by replying this e-mail and enter your: Current Username: { } and Password: { } to increase your storage limit.



Before going any further, as soon as you see a request for your password, you should immediately just delete the message. Any message.

Let me say that again, in bold:

Any email that asks for a password is bogus. Just delete it!

If you think about it, no real administrator would ever need your password: if they are the admin for the system, they have the ability to access your account and make any necessary changes or updates anyway. This is as true for email "from" eBay, Paypal and Amazon.com as it is from "your system administrator".

Strike two on this email, btw, is if you look at the address of the sender, it's probably something like:

SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR <info@helpdesk.com>

I'm willing to bet a big bowl of fresh blueberries that your ISP doesn't own the domain "helpdesk.com" and if it doesn't, why would it be using that as a return address?

In fact, if you try to respond, you'll find that it is going to route to a public email service anyway. Mine was pointing to "help.desk095@live.com" which is an account that I imagine has been shut down by the time you read this.

The long and short of it is that any time you see the magic request to specify your password or other access code just delete the message.

If you're not 100% sure, email your administrator with an address you know gets to them (or go through the admin help form on the Web site) and ask if there are any pending issues or problems. Odds are you're good to go.


More Useful Computer and Internet Basics Articles:
✔   How do I blur my house on Google Maps Street View?
I was poking around on Google Maps looking at satellite views of my neighborhood and when I switched to street view, was upset...
✔   Create a custom vanity URL for Kickstarter?
I was reading some updates on Twitter and saw someone had posted a URL that would let me see what projects they'd backed...
✔   Export or Save Subscription List from Google Reader?
Just heard that Google Reader is going away this summer. That stinks! How am I supposed to read my RSS feeds? More importantly,...
✔   Shrink or Reduce a Photo File Size on Mac?
I'm trying to upload some photos to a social media site and it's complaining that they're too big. They are, as they come...
✔   Can I organize my Yahoo Mail with folders?
I've been on Yahoo Mail for years and while most of my friends are now on Gmail or their own Web-based email programs,...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  




Categorized: Computer and Internet Basics   (Article 9003, Written by )
Tagged: phishing, scams, social engineering, webmail
Previous: How did Twitter get hacked? (password reminder emails)
Next: How do I set up and configure my Verizon Mifi2200 device?




Reader Comments To Date:

Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!
Rather amazingly, there are no comments on this article yet.

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.