Industry guru Dave Taylor offers free tech support on a wide variety of technical and business topics, including HTML, Apple iPhone, online advertising, Cascading Style Sheets, Web design, management, Unix, Linux, search engine optimization, online dating, Mac OS X, shell script programming and Microsoft Windows.

Spam from the Gizmo Project?

Dave, you wrote earlier about getting spam through the Plaxo system [see Can I get Plaxo Spam?], but I'm wondering if other systems could also be used to generate spam, and if so, how?


Dave's Answer:

I actually have been watching as some of the best software systems on the market have been suffering from not having paid sufficient attention to this very problem.

It's one big reason I think it's so hard to find online greeting cards nowadays, for example: because it was darn easy to send unwanted email to unknown people, to "stalk" them, harass them or otherwise be unpleasant, which wasn't the image that greeting card companies were seeking!

Indeed, for the last few days, I've received spam from postcard.com saying rather cryptically that "You have just received a virtual postcard from a family member!" then ostensibly pointing to a domain "postcards.org" but actually linking to "www.postcards16.home.ro" (that's Romania) and to a link called "postcards.gif.exe". Yes, a '.exe' file is an executable. This is a BAD, BAD link to click on!

But that's not the worst of it.

Tonight I received what appears to be spam from someone using the Gizmo Project, a Voice over IP (VOIP) telephony system, that asks me to sign up and download their software:

Spam from the Gizmo Project?

Now it may turn out that I actually know "tnlnyc", but it's certainly not something that inspires confidence and I'm darn surprised that the Gizmo Project team didn't anticipate this situation and ensure that users had full profiles, names, and that the invitation email was less suspicious.

As it is, this is one of my first communications from the Gizmo Project site, and now I'm skeptical of the entire project and suspicious that it might be spyware, malware, or something else that I don't want to get involved with. I'm sure I'm wrong, but really, every site on the net now, from Plaxo to eBay, American Greetings to, yes, The Gizmo Project needs to put in the effort to minimize the potential misuses of its email notification and invitation system.

Otherwise we'll all truly end up sinking under the never-ending waves of genuine spam and legitimate email that's impossible to differentiate from spam.



Help others find this article at Del.icio.us, Digg, Netscape, Reddit, and Stumble Upon    

Subscribe!

Never miss another useful Q&A article again! Subscribe to AskDaveTaylor with Google Reader.

Comments

GizmoProject is a good project. Fairly responsive tech support, $5 a month for an incoming phone number. Mac OS X compatible. But yes, their outgoing messages should be more clear.

Posted by: Michael Clark at January 20, 2006 6:19 AM

I loaded gizmo5 and later on that night, it apparently sent out that spam message to all of my yahoo contacts.

Posted by: Chris at February 23, 2008 6:40 AM

I signed up for gizmo a long time ago but never used it, but recently they decided to spam my contacts.

Posted by: Jeff at March 16, 2008 11:57 AM

I have a lot to say, but ...
Starbucks coffee cup I have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but most of all I'd like to say thank you for all your efforts on this Web site by buying you a chai!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











Remember personal info?


Please note that I will never send you any unsolicited commercial email. Ever.

While I'm at it, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site.









Uniblue: Free Virus Scan

Follow me on Twitter @DaveTaylor

Search
Find just the answers you seek from among our 2300+ free tech support articles by using our Lijit search engine.


Help!





Subscribe to
Ask Dave Taylor!

Add to Google Reader
Add to My Yahoo!
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

RDF   XML

Free Updates!
Sign up and get free weekly updates and special offers on books, seminars, workshops and more.


Recent Entries
Book Links
© 2002 - 2009 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site.

[whiteboard marker tray]
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.