Dave Taylor answers free tech support questions about a wide variety of business and technical topics, including blogging, iphone help, ipod help, AdSense, MySpace, Sony PSP help, Mp3 players, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

"Runescape Account Validation - Notice" Is it legit?

I'm anxious: I just received an email from Runescape saying that I needed to validate my account credentials. It says "We have information regarding you attemping to buy or sell your Runescape account. This is against the Terms of Use you agreed to when you created your account." What's up? I haven't done that!


Dave's Answer:

Here's the full message you submitted, so we're starting in the same place:


Greetings,

This is a automated message from Jagex entertainment.

We have information regarding you attemping to buy or sell your Runescape account.
This is against the Terms of Use you agreed to when you created your account.

In order to validate the correct owner is still in control of the account please fill out the form below and reply back to this e-mail.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Username:
Password:
Recovery Question Answer 1:
Recovery Question Answer 2:
Recovery Question Answer 3:
Recovery Question Answer 4:
Recovery Question Answer 5:
First ever password used on the account:
Another password used on the account:
When was the account created:
What internet service provider was used when the account was made:
Any other details which might help us confirm the proper ownership:

------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------

Please respond as soon as possible to this e-mail otherwise we will assume account is in another owners control and take action.

Thanks for your time,
Marcus.
Customer support team.
Jagex entertainment.


Seems reasonably legitimate, I have to admit, but if we were to axe out all the irrelevant noise, what they're really seeking are username and password.

Further, a quick glance reveals that the return email address is "Runescape Authentication "

Let's think about this. Jagex is a big company and clearly has a lot of computers and their own domain names, etc. Why would they use an email address off Google's Gmail service? Why? Because it's a social engineering / phishing scam.

That's right, this is not a legitimate email message and you should not respond to it at all.

How did I know when I got this message? Two clues: the Gmail return address and the fact that I don't actually have a Runescape account.

Ooops. :-)

Suffice to say, always always be suspicious of any email like this and never click on a link included or email anyone your account credentials.

Be careful out there!



Help others find this article at Del.icio.us, Digg, Netscape, Reddit, and Stumble Upon    

Subscribe!

Never miss another useful Q&A article again! Subscribe to AskDaveTaylor with Google Reader.

Comments

It's hard to believe in this day and age that people don't know that there is no(legitimate)company that will email you asking for your username and password.

Posted by: David at October 18, 2008 11:40 AM

Also, Jagex NEVER email you! They use the built in messaging service within the game to communicate with the players.

Posted by: Oliver at October 31, 2008 2:13 AM

1. Runescape is a very dumb game.

And two:
Runescape (and like other companies) will never ask you for your information because they've already stored it when you've registered. It'd be pointless for them to ask you again for your information unless the info is missing or has accidentally been deleted.

Posted by: Adrian at November 1, 2008 11:25 PM


I have a lot to say, but ...
Starbucks coffee cup I have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but most of all I'd like to say thank you for all your efforts on this Web site by buying you a chai!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!









Remember personal info?


Please note that I will never send you any unsolicited commercial email. Ever.

While I'm at it, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site.









Uniblue: Free Virus Scan

Search
Find just the answers you seek from among our 1700+ free tech support articles by using our Lijit search engine.


Member of the B5Media Network

Help!





Subscribe to
Ask Dave Taylor!

Add to Google Reader
Add to My Yahoo!
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

RDF   XML

Free Updates!
Sign up and get free weekly updates and special offers on books, seminars, workshops and more.


Recent Entries
Join the List!
Join my author info mailing list, where you'll learn about my upcoming books, speaking gigs, and more!


Book Links
© 2002 - 2008 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site.

[whiteboard marker tray]