Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Is this "Problem: Inaccurate whois information" email legit?

I'm a bit concerned, I got an email message from eNom tech support saying that they'd received a "third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database" for one of my domains and that I needed up update the domain info or risk cancellation of the domain. But I logged in to eNom and found that there was nothing registered. So... what do I do?


Dave's Answer:

We're in luck, because I dug through my spam mailbox and have an example of this same email message, which is actually yet another in the long parade of bogus phishing messages that are simply intended to aid in criminals or hackers stealing your login and password data for a specific Web site or online service.

Here's what I bet you also received:


On Sun, 2 Nov 2008 12:38:13 +0530 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain. Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.

The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Sun, 2 Nov 2008 12:38:13 +0530 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.

PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com

If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:

Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260


LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com

Thank you,
Domain Services

[IncidentID:01104]


How do I know this is not legit? Because my email program, Microsoft Entourage, has a delightful feature: it shows not just the "display" URL but also the actual URL of the site you'd visit if you clicked on the link. In this case it shows:

PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
<http://www.enom.com.sys53.ru>

So, in fact, instead of going to enom.com, it'd actually take me to a site based in the Russian Federation , a site that is definitely not part of a US company that focuses on domain registrations.

In fact, if you dig into the "whois" information for the domain, you find that they're using a nameserver called "nastynameserver.com". Uh, yeah, probably not a legit corporation!

You were smart enough to do the right thing, too, by not clicking on the link in a message of this nature but instead going directly to the site that ostensibly sent the message, just to find out that, surprise, there was no problem registered with eNom at all.

I've said it before and can't say it too often: be careful, and be skeptical


More Useful Computer and Internet Basics Articles:
✔   How do I blur my house on Google Maps Street View?
I was poking around on Google Maps looking at satellite views of my neighborhood and when I switched to street view, was upset...
✔   Create a custom vanity URL for Kickstarter?
I was reading some updates on Twitter and saw someone had posted a URL that would let me see what projects they'd backed...
✔   Export or Save Subscription List from Google Reader?
Just heard that Google Reader is going away this summer. That stinks! How am I supposed to read my RSS feeds? More importantly,...
✔   Shrink or Reduce a Photo File Size on Mac?
I'm trying to upload some photos to a social media site and it's complaining that they're too big. They are, as they come...
✔   Can I organize my Yahoo Mail with folders?
I've been on Yahoo Mail for years and while most of my friends are now on Gmail or their own Web-based email programs,...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  




Categorized: Computer and Internet Basics   (Article 8584, Written by )
Tagged: enom, hacking, phishing, social engineering
Previous: Can I share my favorite articles from Google Reader on my blog?
Next: Is "Paypal Anti-Fraud Protection" just a scam?




Reader Comments To Date:

Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!
Rather amazingly, there are no comments on this article yet.

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.