Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Is this person really interested in buying my domain?

I got the following email message this evening, but something about it seems wrong: "Hello, I am interested in buying your domain xxxx.com If you are interested in selling it, please reply how much would you want for it? We can make the domain transfer operations safely, over escrow.com. I can pay for the cost of domain transfer operations. Thank you in advance for your time. Techweb System Co. LTD." Is it legit, or not?

Dave's Answer:

You're right to be skeptical. I got one of these too, and a colleague of mine who owns hundreds of domains has received about twenty of them this evening alone.

They aren't legit, but they're more nefarious than you may imagine!

The people sending these messages are harvesting email addresses. They aren't interested in buying your domain, I'm sorry to report, but just want to see if you respond or not.

Then they'll start spamming you, claiming that you "opted in" to their mailings by... surprise! responding to this domain name sales query.

Pretty bogus, eh? This is one message to delete without any further thought.


Related Business and Management articles:
✔   How do I trademark my group's name?
Yo Dave! So I'm looking 2 trademark my group's name, and once its trademarked will I get a certain certificate of trademark to...
✔   Export LinkedIn Profile as a PDF Resume?
I've spent the last year or two updating and adding to my LinkedIn profile and it has a ton of information about me....
✔   How do I run a credit card transaction with PayPal Here?
I contacted PayPal and got their little blue triangle card reader for use with the "PayPal Here" application, so I can process credit...
✔   How do I search for a registered trademark?
I'm trying to come up with a new name for our software product, having been informed by a customer that a really big...
✔   I'm unemployed. What do I list on LinkedIn?
I wanna ask you about LinkedIn. What's the best practice to fill out the CURRENT POSITION Field when you are not working and...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  








Reader Comments To Date: 4

Ian said, on December 17, 2004 3:10 PM:

Anyone who receives an email like Dave describes should report it to the sender's mail host. I just received one from techweb@gmail.com. I immediately reported it to gmail-abuse@google.com in the hopes that Google will shut down the spammer's account.

In the absence of a definite abuse address like the one for gmail, send a report to "abuse" at whatever mail domain is being used by the spammer, e.g. abuse@HOST.com

Rob said, on September 15, 2005 7:34 AM:

> I immediately reported it to gmail-abuse@google.com in the hopes that Google will shut down the spammer's account.

Give up your hopes.
gmail-abuse@google.com is a robot that only sends you a baked reply, nothing ever happens with your message.

Best is to refuse all mail from gmail.com until they fix that.

Hog Advertising said, on February 10, 2006 1:04 PM:

Our company Hog Advertising jusy got a similar solicitation about one of our domain names.

What these folks are doing is mining the WhoIs and sending spam to find live email addresses. When you repond, then they know they have a live address, and they spam you even more.

:(

So, be wary of cold solicitations to buy your domain.

Gonzalo said, on June 7, 2006 12:04 PM:
Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.