Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Is this Orkut friend request legit or phishing?

I've just recently signed up for orkut and am wondering if the "friend requests" from people I have never bumped into before are legit or not. I've sent you the invite: can you tell me how to know whether it's a phishing attempt before I actually click on a link?


Dave's Answer:

I'm really glad to hear that you are skeptical about the email that comes into your mailbox and requests that you click on a given URL link and/or take any other specific action. Generally these messages are phishing or other attempts to separate you from your account credentials and thereby hijack your account entirely.

One way to deal with this is to simply never click on URL links in email messages, which would work in this situation too because if you have a friend request on orkut it shows up when you next log in any way, as I show here:

orkut new friend request

But let's go back to the email, because here's the message I received from orkut when my friend Mark asked to connect to me in the orkut world:

orkut friend request email

I can see your being suspicious about this message! Even checking the return email address or looking at the email headers to see if it really came from the orkut team at Google isn't going to really prove that it's a legitimate message.

The best way is to look at individual email links, if you insist on clicking on URL links in messages. I'm viewing this particular invitation in Google's Gmail, and notice what happens on the lower left edge of the "status bar" of my Web browser when I move the cursor over the confirmation of friend link:

firefox gmail url link

That shows me it's a link that is going to take me to the "www.orkut.com" site, so it's legit and safe to click upon.

However, as a general rule of thumb, I still encourage you to just type in the base URL of the site in question when you get these sort of notifications: if they also show up in the actual account then the notifications were legitimate and not a phishing or hacking attempt. If they don't show up, well, then your caution has saved you!

In my experience, by the way, phishers seem to be more interested in stealing your identity from MySpace, LinkedIn, FaceBook, Paypal or eBay rather than Orkut. But your experience may vary!


More Useful Twitter, LinkedIn and Social Network Help Articles:
✔   How do I search for a job on LinkedIn?
This may be a bit obvious, but I'm looking for work and am unclear how I can use LinkedIn to find positions other...
✔   Add a header graphic to my Twitter profile?
I heard from a colleague that Twitter's added profile pictures a la Facebook's timeline photo on the top. Nice, but how do I...
✔   Export LinkedIn Profile as a PDF Resume?
I've spent the last year or two updating and adding to my LinkedIn profile and it has a ton of information about me....
✔   How do I block an iPad app from accessing Twitter?
My son installed an app on my iPad and now it's posting updates on my Twitter account when he plays. What the deuce?...
✔   Repost a Facebook photo on Instagram?
I post a lot of photos on Facebook and sometimes want to share them with my Instagram followers. You can automatically mirror an...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  





Categorized: Twitter, LinkedIn and Social Network Help   (Article 8646, Written by )
Tagged: ebay, facebook, linkedin, myspace, orkut, paypal, phishing
Previous: Help! What should my job title be?
Next: In Gmail, how can I tell if email is sent to me or a mailing list?




Reader Comments To Date: 1

akash said, on September 7, 2009 8:32 AM:

how can i sent friend request on orkut. when other one's orkut id ask me email address....

Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.