Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Is email from Verizon Wireless actually phishing?

I'm trying to figure out if an email I got from my cellular provider, Verizon Wireless, is some sort of cunning phishing attempt or a real message from the company. It references an account number, but I don't think it's mine?


Dave's Answer:

Generally, it's hard to imagine any company sending email asking for you to log in to their site for any reason in this day of never-ending phishing attacks, but I also got an email from Verizon and y'know what? It looks legit to me.

Here's what I received:

Legit Verizon email, or phishing attempt?

Looks pretty legitimate, doesn't it? My usual test to see if it's phishing is to look at where I'd go if I were to click on a link, which Microsoft Entourage shows on the bottom window edge when the cursor is over a link (a darn good feature that all email programs should include). In this case the link "Log In to My Account" shows:

Verizon email: Where the Link would go...

A link to https://myaccount.verizonwireless.com/vzs/loginform looks quite legitimate to me, so I can only assume that this is a legit email message from Verizon rather than some sort of sophisticated phishing attempt.

Nonetheless, I strongly encourage you to never click a login page link in an email message whether you think it might be legit and valid or not. Then you're always safe.

Instead, for Verizon Wireless, just type in http://www.verizonwireless.com/ and log in directly. It's a bit more work, but a lot more safe.

I find it shocking and rather stupid on Verizon's part that they are sending out this sort of email because it really does invite phishing attempts and while breaking into my cellphone account wouldn't be the worst crime in the world, it's still a potential problem and certainly could be quite an inconvenience!

So this email you received might well be legit too, but I'd still strongly counsel you to type in the real company URL and log in from that point, rather than take the convenient, but potential dangerous, shortcut of the link included in the email message.


More Useful Computer and Internet Basics Articles:
✔   How do I blur my house on Google Maps Street View?
I was poking around on Google Maps looking at satellite views of my neighborhood and when I switched to street view, was upset...
✔   Create a custom vanity URL for Kickstarter?
I was reading some updates on Twitter and saw someone had posted a URL that would let me see what projects they'd backed...
✔   Export or Save Subscription List from Google Reader?
Just heard that Google Reader is going away this summer. That stinks! How am I supposed to read my RSS feeds? More importantly,...
✔   Shrink or Reduce a Photo File Size on Mac?
I'm trying to upload some photos to a social media site and it's complaining that they're too big. They are, as they come...
✔   Can I organize my Yahoo Mail with folders?
I've been on Yahoo Mail for years and while most of my friends are now on Gmail or their own Web-based email programs,...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  




Categorized: Computer and Internet Basics   (Article 5915, Written by )
Tagged: phishing, verizon wireless
Previous: Can Motorola RAZR V3c voice records be used as free ringtones?
Next: How do I use Google AdSense Channels?




Reader Comments To Date: 1

Mary Jane Sheets said, on September 4, 2007 8:16 AM:

would like a Verizon icon for my dock space

Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.