Industry guru Dave Taylor offers free tech support on a wide variety of technical and business topics, including HTML, Apple iPhone, online advertising, Cascading Style Sheets, Web design, management, Unix, Linux, search engine optimization, online dating, Mac OS X, shell script programming and Microsoft Windows.

How do I track down who owns a Gmail account?

I need to find the sender of an email I received that was a death threat and the domain was @gmail.com. I have contacted the police and fear it will take too long for them to find out any information. Is there anyway you can assist me? The email address was deadlykillers61@gmail.com.


Dave's Answer:

Sounds like a terrible sort of message to receive, no question, but before we start calling in the local SWAT team and explaining to your family why it's time for WitSec, the witness protection program, it's worth asking a few questions.

For example, do you have enemies? More to the point, do you have enemies so passionate that they would actually kill you?

Outside of dramatic movies and TV show actors, I don't know of anyone who actually has enemies so passionate about their health and well-being. Even people who have been abusive of former spouses, people who have had terrible parents, etc. It's a big, big step from "I hate you" to being a credible threat to your life.

Further, it turns out that email death threats are actually the latest scam, depressingly enough. Checking with the Federal Bureau of Investigation reveals that they have sent out a series of press releases warning of just this sort of scam. Most recently as reported by KSBY 6: Death threat email scam.

That story explains: "The FBI first sent out a warning on this scam about a year ago. To date, they have about 115 complaints filed. They say there is no question this is a cruel hoax, and it is best just to delete the message and move on."

You also have to wonder about the email address. I mean, if they were deadly killers, do you think they'd register the email address "deadlykillers61@gmail.com" and use it? (and are there really 60 other people using that same base address? Holy cow!) If you Google that email address, you'll find you're not the first to receive this sort of scam either. Check out this link: Life threatening email scam.

Please, delete the message, call the local police and tell 'em it's a common scam and the FBI's already aware of it, and then get back to your life, knowing that it's just some scary-stupid method of trying to separate you from your money and scare you a bit. Ugly, yes. Stupid, yes. A genuine, credible threat on your life? Not a bit.



Help others find this article at Del.icio.us, Digg, Netscape, Reddit, and Stumble Upon    

Subscribe!

Never miss another useful Q&A article again! Subscribe to AskDaveTaylor with Google Reader.

Comments

If you do not know the answer, you should at least say “NO�

Posted by: Ismail at February 18, 2009 8:04 AM

I have something to say, now that you mention it, but ...
Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you for all your efforts on this Web site by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











Remember personal info?


Please note that I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.

While I'm at it, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site.








Ask Dave Taylor: The iPhone App: Advertisement



Follow me on Twitter @DaveTaylor

Search
Find just the answers you seek from among our 2300+ free tech support articles by using our Lijit search engine.


Help!





Subscribe to
Ask Dave Taylor!

Add to Google Reader
Add to My Yahoo!
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

RDF   XML

Free Updates!
Sign up and get free weekly updates and special offers on books, seminars, workshops and more.


Recent Entries
Book Links
© 2002 - 2010 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site.

[whiteboard marker tray]
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.