Free tech support / small logo


Do I need to register my domain trademark internationally?

I just got email from a domain registration company in China claiming that they've received a request from a local firm to register our domain in their area. They suggest that we register our domain there first, but I'm a bit skeptical. Does it really matter if we have foo.cn and so on, and is someone really trying to register our domain in the first place?


Dave's Answer:

You're right to be skeptical. There's a new scam that's traveling the Internet now where "domain name register centers" in China and other nations contact you with the notification that someone wants to "steal" your domain and suggesting strongly that you register it first, to protect your trademark and/or domain identity.

I dug around a bit and here's a typical email that is associated with this scam:


We are Beijing Inveis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd which is the domain name register center in China. We received a formal application from a company is applying to register "yourdomain" as their domain name and Internet keyword on Aug 11, 2009. Because this involved your company name or trade marks so we inform you in no time. If you considered these domain names and internet keywords are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon.
Kind Regards
Linda.yang
Tel: +86-10-82476192-604
Fax: +86-10-62477798
Email: linda.yang@inveis.com
Email: linda.yang@inveis.com.cn
Beijing Inveis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd
website:www.inveis.com
You're right to be skeptical.

In addition to the terrible grammar in this message (which is suspicious: a legitimate Chinese business that catered to the US market would hire an English speaker to help craft a coherent message, wouldn't they?) the entire concept is a bit weak, that someone might or might not seek to register your domain in their space so you should get there first.

I further imagine that the domain registration is quite expensive, though this particular company appears to have been shut down. I'm sure that there are a few hundred that have replaced it instead.

Further, I can easily imagine a criminal situation where you then say that you are interested in regsitering your domain in China and they send back a note saying "ooh, so sorry, that other company got the domain. We have contacted them, however, and for $2000USD they've agreed to sell it to you." Meanwhile, no-one has registered anything.

Suffice to say, if it's suspicious at all, just run away from the transaction and you'll be safe.

The bigger question of whether you should register your domain / trademark in overseas markets can be simply addressed by asking if you have a meaningful customer base in those countries. If so, go through legitimate registrars like Network Solutions to find out how much it would cost, and what's involved, in getting a .cn or a .co.uk or similar.









Subscribe!
Never miss another Q&A article! Click to subscribe: Add to Google Reader Add to My Yahoo! Subscribe in NewsGator RDF XML
Comments

I used to get emails like this all the time (they seem to have dried up now, or maybe they just hit my spam filters). What can I say they must think that you are daft! Like you say if you were planning on doing business in China you would have probably already looked into the matter, and if you are not then there is no need for that domain. Your .com, .net, ,co.uk whatever will probably rank above any future competitor anyway.

Posted by: Deano at September 16, 2009 10:01 AM

I also got a similar mail recently!
I replied them.
But they told me the domain will only be available in premium rate and nor in normal price!!!!!

Posted by: Vilyanur Chandra at January 15, 2010 10:23 AM

Hey Dave, great question and answer. However,the assumption that firms like the one mentioned above should hire an English speaker is wrong. Firms of all sizes, even multinational ones, a big Canadian real estate firm comes to mind, do not hire English speakers to edit documents let alone an email like this. The recruitment costs outweigh any sound business judgement. It's the same as being an idiot for buying a legal version of Windows 7, but spending 200K RMB on a 3 hour wedding to show off to your friends is perfectly acceptable and in most cases the norm.

The government is cracking down on these types of outfits and a quick glance at http://www.cnnic.net.cn/index.htm may be useful.

Posted by: Siloviki at May 10, 2010 3:08 AM

Hey Dave : I just got an email just like this thanks for clearing this up. I was thinking maybe it was just a scam. Here is the note:

Does this look legit?

"Dear Manager:
We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On November,12th,2010, We received HUADI Company's application that they are registering the name "yourwebgurus" as their Internet Trademark and "yourwebgurus.cn","yourwebgurus.com.cn" ,"yourwebgurus.asia"domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Kind regards
Angela Zhang
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
Registration Department Manager
3002, Nanhai Building 854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai
Email: info@yg-networks.com

Also I wanted to know about registering trademarks.... do I need to register the trademark as .com or just the name of the company w/o the .com extension, or should I do both? Does the trademark registration apply only to the US

Posted by: QuestionForDave at November 15, 2010 6:42 AM

I have something to say, now that you mention it, but ...
Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you for all your efforts on this Web site by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











Remember personal info?


Please note that I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.

While I'm at it, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site.









Recent Entries


Search
I Need Help!
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


© 2002 - 2012 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site.

[whiteboard marker tray]
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.