I’m done with MySpace. After all the bad publicity and weirdoes that are apparently hanging out on the site, I want to just cut free and leave no trace behind. How do I do that, Dave?
Well, first off can I point out that with millions of members, MySpace inevitably has some oddballs just as you would find in any group of that size. The vast majority of people on the site, however, seem to be nice friendly folk. Perhaps you need to revise your friend list rather than leave entirely?
Anyway, if you are prepared to cancel and quit your account, here’s how you do it.
First, log in and click on “Account Settings” next to your page, then click on “Change Account Settings”. You’ll see:
You want to click on the link “Cancel Account”. Now you’ll get the big warning:
“WARNING: Cancelling your MySpace account will PERMANENTLY REMOVE all of your profile information from MySpace, including your photographs, comments, journals, and your personal network of friends. This information cannot be restored. You may re-register your current email address after cancelling, but you will need to rebuild your personal network from scratch.”
and you’ll see this:
If this is truly what you want to do, click on “Cancel My Account” and you’ll vanish from the world of MySpace, from everyone’s friends list, and similar. You can then start over, or you can leave it alone forever.
Good luck to you, either way.