Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Is email from "Facebook Notification Center" legitimate?

I got the strangest email, unlike anything I've seen from Facebook, telling me that I have a message to pick up on the site, but not giving me any of the message. Then it included a weird URL at which I was supposed to log in (even though I am already logged in to Facebook) so I could pick up the message. I stopped and decided I'd check with Guru Dave. So, is it legit?


Dave's Answer:

I know what you're talking about because I got a wave of about twenty of them in the last fifteen minutes. They're all from

Facebook Info Center <messagecenter@facebook.com>
and here's a typical message contents:
Personal Message To You From your friends at facebook video server:
Subject: " Review - My family invite you out for lunch, don't hesitate!"

Read Description for a link to part 1 Original Video added by group member.
You will see a link to Open Your Personal Message Manager.
Selecting this link will take you to the log in page where you can browse new messages.

Proceed to open full message text:

http://login.facebook.management.videomessageid-poi9y94yn.sessionnewid83.com/home.htm?/Management/LOGIN=tun9unnnz3fxm9q

Sincerely, Lindsey Whalen.
Facebook 2009 Message Center.


Now it might be the case that there really is a Facebook 2009 Message Center, but I doubt it.

The clue is in the URL if you look at it close enough. On first blush it looks like it says "http://login.facebook" which is legit, right?

Ah, but keep reading that URL. In fact there are all sorts of subdomains included to confuse you, but the final, proper domain is "sessionnewid83.com" and that's most assuredly not Facebook. In fact, it's registered to someone in Devon, Pennsylvania and I'm sure they have no idea that their site is involved in this phishing attempt. Proceeding to the site (which I've done so you don't have to) drops you onto a page that looks kinda like Facebook, but has a huge video in the middle. Click on it to play it and you suddenly download "Adobe_Player11.exe".

WHooooaaa! Anytime you see a ".exe", run like heck. Delete it, do NOT click it or see if it works for you. If you want Adobe Player, go to http://www.adobe.com/ directly. Because... it's a virus waiting to infect your computer.

All in all, this is a somewhat clever phishing attempt. They want you to blithely log in and give them your Facebook credentials, with which they'll hijack your account and have a good time. Not what you want to have happen, I'm sure!

Delete these messages, log in to Facebook as usual, and if you have messages pending, you'll see 'em as always.


More Useful Facebook Help Articles:
✔   How can I block event invites on Facebook?
I have a friend who keeps inviting me to webinars where he pitches his make-money programs. I really like the guy, but hate...
✔   Shortcut for blocking games on Facebook?
I saw your article from a while back about blocking Coasterville notifications on Facebook and was wondering if you had a shortcut or...
✔   Update Facebook profile picture without notifying friends?
Hey Dave! Whenever I change my profile picture on Facebook all my friends are notified of this change. Not good. How do I...
✔   How do I permanently block CoasterVille on Facebook?
My brother is really into Facebook games and the latest that he seems obsessed with is called CoasterVille. I think it's all about...
✔   Disable audio notification sound in Facebook?
This is something new: When I'm logged in to Facebook I now get an annoying audio beep every time someone posts something new...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  




Categorized: Facebook Help   (Article 8782, Written by )
Tagged: adobe, facebook, flash, hacking, phishing
Previous: What happened to my Facebook Request update box?
Next: How do I learn how to be a hacker?




Reader Comments To Date: 2

Mubharik said, on December 16, 2012 9:57 AM:

My email tks

Mubharik said, on December 16, 2012 10:01 AM:

FIND FRINDS BLOK WHY?

Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.