Industry guru Dave Taylor offers free tech support on a wide variety of technical and business topics, including HTML, Apple iPhone, online advertising, Cascading Style Sheets, Web design, management, Unix, Linux, search engine optimization, online dating, Mac OS X, shell script programming and Microsoft Windows.

Craigslist seller sent me to a virus-infected site?

Hi, I went on craigslist.com and saw that they were giving away a pool table. I emailed the guy and asked for some pictures and he sent me an email back saying that he had posted them on his blog and put the web address in there. I clicked on the address and it said that I had to install something to see the pictures, I did not, but I really wanted to see the pictures. I clicked it again but this time it took me to ask.com. Could he have just put the wrong web address or was he trying to give me a virus? Thank you


Dave's Answer:

First off, let me just say that I think it's quite unlikely that anyone who is selling on Craigslist is going to be sending you a virus, truth be told. Why? Because it's a lot of work to do something that's more easily done by just creating a dummy landing page that infects your computer.

I'm guessing that the seller has used some sort of 3d picture or picture zoom gadget to make the photos on their weblog of the pool table more useful and cool. And something like that would legitimately require a separate plug-in.

But I wouldn't download a plugin to see the pictures, personally. Seems to me, in fact, that if this person really wanted to sell their pool table -- a fairly expensive item to buy used -- then they'd be bending over backwards to make sure you had images and whatever other information you sought so you could decide whether to buy it or not.

Common pool or billiards table

The fact that he seems a bit reticent about helping you learn more about the pool table worries me. Is it legit? Is he just totally unmotivated?

Having said that and drawn all sort of conclusions on precious little data, I should probably say that, yes, maybe you did get a bad URL or web page address from the seller. If you really do want to buy it, then perhaps you should send a note back to him saying that you still haven't been able to see any photos on his site and ask him to send them to you via email.

If he responds rudely or not at all, you'll be able to consider yourself lucky to avoid a potentially awkward or suspicious transaction. If he responds pleasantly, then hopefully you'll find it a great table at a good price and get a good deal.



Help others find this article at Del.icio.us, Digg, Netscape, Reddit, and Stumble Upon    

Subscribe!

Never miss another useful Q&A article again! Subscribe to AskDaveTaylor with Google Reader.

Comments

I think you may want to reconsider this answer. Today I wasted time interacting with a "cathryn" who turned out to be a spambot that miserably failed a Turing Test.

"She" sent me a link to kellysblog.yoursblog.com
to see the pictures of her "stuff". I didn't bother downloading the "flash pics loader" as it wouldn't have run on Linux anyway (it's a dos executable).

After calling her a f***ing scumbag in my otherwise polite reply that I couldn't view the pics I got a "sorry it's already taken" reply, along with a discussion of how I could get one really cheap by signing up at a product testing website.

Posted by: Andy at January 19, 2009 4:52 PM

I have to say the Craig's List is an open forum thus anyone may do whatever they wish, including virus's. My husband had an item for sale and was contacted only by email by some "GENTLEMAN" was appalled that after my husband getting an estimate on the item upped the sales price slightly. My husband received a seething email from this chap cussing him out and calling him a liar! Upon opening this email in gmail my husbands computer started crashing. Yes an embedded serious virus was attached which has now crashed his system completely, undetected by two anti virus programs and costing us our computer. This is the type of individual lurking on this site. Was he a serious buyer? No he originally said he wasn't interested.
SO BEWARE THERE ARE THINGS HAPPENING DISPITE WHAT SOME OF THESE FORUMS ARE SAYING!

Posted by: Sandy at March 22, 2009 12:46 PM

I answered an ad for a mini Mac on Seattle Craigslist last night and got an email from someone at jimandsammy@yoursblog.com that asked me to click a link to ImageReaderAdobe 1 and got a file loaded that did nothing and was irremovable. I did a search and found other people complaining about the owner of this address. My question is whether you know of a virus like this and any tricks to remove it.

Posted by: Michael at September 20, 2009 11:36 AM

I just received a similar message through Craigslist about a drafting table, whereupon after visiting the persons link for images of the item, I was asked to install a plug-in. Foolishly, I took the bait. It just seemed so unlikely that anyone would go to all that work just to give me a virus... BUT THEY DID!!

Install AVG Virus Scan at ONCE!!! It is free, and found it right away.

Posted by: J. Siefer at September 26, 2009 3:04 PM

I too was replying to a free items add on Craigslist, same deal, recieved a reply from jimandsammy@yoursblog.com, look at pictures, asked me to download adobe1 file. Can't get it off my computer now, gonna run Norton and if that doesn't work I'll try AVG. What Scumbags!

Posted by: Magnum at September 26, 2009 3:28 PM

I have something to say, now that you mention it, but ...
Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you for all your efforts on this Web site by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











Remember personal info?


Please note that I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.

While I'm at it, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site.








Ask Dave Taylor: The iPhone App: Advertisement



Follow me on Twitter @DaveTaylor

Search
Find just the answers you seek from among our 2300+ free tech support articles by using our Lijit search engine.


Help!





Subscribe to
Ask Dave Taylor!

Add to Google Reader
Add to My Yahoo!
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

RDF   XML

Free Updates!
Sign up and get free weekly updates and special offers on books, seminars, workshops and more.


Recent Entries
Book Links
© 2002 - 2010 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site.

[whiteboard marker tray]
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.