Free tech support / small logo


Can a Firefox extension be spyware?

I've been getting plugged into the world of Firefox, and man, it rocks. I really like it, and I especially like that there's a huge library of different extensions that can make Firefox just about jump through flaming hoops. As I keep adding more and more, however, I'm starting to worry about whether it's possible that some of these extensions are actually spyware or viruses. Is that even possible? And if so, how do I avoid being suckered?


Dave's Answer:

Not only is that possible, but there's a known issue with a Firefox extension called numberlinks. Download and install it and as far as you can tell, it works as it's supposed to, numbering the different hypertext links on the page so you can browse the Web without a mouse. Meanwhile, however, it's also sniffing and intercepting passwords and credit card numbers, which are then sent to an external server.

Scary concept, eh?

This particular malicious spyware was first reported by Heise Security. The extension isn't one you get off the Firefox site, however, but one that arrives as spam identifying itself as "a helpful extension for Firefox". Install the extension and it loads just like the real numberedlinks extension. But it's not.

Virus experts McAfee are calling this the first FormSpy because of how it interacts with Web-based forms, but there's no doubting the malicious nature of this particular spyware.

Find out what extensions you have installed in Firefox by going to Tools --> Extensions, and you'll see something quite similar to this:

Firefox Extensions List

Finally, you can avoid this and the inevitable copycats that'll show up by only downloading Firefox extensions from known sites, ideally only from Mozdev.org, the official site of the Mozilla team and associated groups that help build and grow Firefox.

And, as always, be careful out there.

Oh, and if you are surfing the web - which you're obviously doing since you're here on my site! -- then you must have both a solid antivirus solution and anti-spyware solution. I recommend AVG Antivirus for the former and Spy Sweeper for the latter.









Subscribe!
Never miss another Q&A article! Click to subscribe: Add to Google Reader Add to My Yahoo! Subscribe in NewsGator RDF XML
Comments

I've seen the infamous "MyWebSearch" on Firefox, once, on a client's Windows PC. It was scary! http://ichyware.net/nerdherd/firefox_with_myWebsearch/index.htm

Posted by: Matthew Poer at August 19, 2006 3:43 PM

I noticed that the numbered links plugin is actually listed as a download from mozdev.org (under usability)

I'm presuming that means either a) mozdev.org is not actually screening what it uploads or b) the spyware version you're talking about is actually just a copied version of the real (harmless) plugin, which has been turned into spyware and is being marketed through less guarded channels.

Either way, I'm not taking the risk.

Posted by: John at September 29, 2007 6:07 PM

I have something to say, now that you mention it, but ...
Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you for all your efforts on this Web site by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











Remember personal info?


Please note that I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.

While I'm at it, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site.









Recent Entries


Search
I Need Help!
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


© 2002 - 2012 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site.

[whiteboard marker tray]
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.