Industry guru Dave Taylor offers tech support on technical and business topics, including iPhone, iPod, Microsoft Windows, Sony PSP, cellphones, online advertising, CSS, Web design, business, Unix, Linux, SEO, Mac OS X, and shell script programming.     


Are sites like pspblender and allpspgames legal?

Hey Dave, what do you think about websites like pspblender and allpspgames? They claim to offer full version games for Sony PSP systems as downloads which are supported on all firmware versions including v2.81 and are legal. Are they for real or just trying to con people?


Dave's Answer:

I think that there are two categories of games out there you can download, homebrew and commercial games. The latter should quite obviously be illegal to download and install on your PSP, regardless of what these sites say. The former, well, let's talk about that...

But before we do, let me say that my experience with sites like pspblender and allpspgames is that they are charging you for something you can get for free: access to the world of peer to peer (p2p) networks and/or bittorrent networks. If you've heard of the popular application limewire, you have your entry ticket into the world of p2p networks.

You can dig around just a wee bit if you want, actually. Go to Mininova.org and search for "psp". You'll see, there's a lot out there for the taking. But no, it's not legal regardless of what someone says. It's simple: if you buy and copy a DVD and distribute it, if you buy, copy and distribute an audio CD, or if you buy, copy and distribute a Sony PSP game, you're breaking the law and liable. Not a good thing at all.

Homebrew is a different story and I've said many times that I wish Sony made it easy for third party programmers to write additional games and applications for the little Playstation Portable device as it'd make the PSP more fun, more cool, and tap into the greater creativity of the overall user community rather than just the well-funded commercial game developers.

I am definitely a fan of homebrew, as is obvious, and since the p2p networks are, in fact, so incredibly ingenious about distributing large file sets, it's a logical pairing. But do you need to pay to become a member of one of these psp torrent network gateways.

However, installing and getting those homebrew to work and avoid issues of viruses and potential damaging software is a bit of a challenge, and, yes, I do get email every week from someone who has had their PSP "bricked" or broken from a bad or malicious download. Perhaps what's needed is a site that can certify homebrew apps as being clean and trustworthy. Ideally, Sony would sponsor this effort, but I don't see that happening in the near future.

Hope this helps you gain some clarity regarding these sites and whether they're a good path for you to travel for finding more games and software for your PSP.

And while you're here, don't forget to check out my additional psp help and much more tech support here.


More Useful iPod, Sony PSP and MP3 Player Help Articles:
✔   Deleted iTunes library but still have tracks on iPod...
Hi Dave, I have been following your newsletter for awhile now. Most of your topics are way over my head but very interesting....
✔   How do I fix the time / date on my Apple iPod Touch?
I pulled my iTouch [ed note: "iPod Touch", actually] out of the drawer and when it was fully charged I realized that the...
✔   Can I remove songs from an unsync'd iPod Touch?
My son has just come home from his uncle's house with a new iPod. Very nice. Full of a wide variety of music,...
✔   Get started with iTunes Match!
I have a huge library of music, Dave, and want to be able to enjoy it on all my Apple devices, but am...
✔   Can I pre-order a music CD from the Apple iTunes Store?
I have a bunch of bands and musicians I follow faithfully and when I see that there's a new CD coming out from...

Let's stay in touch!
Sign up for my weekly AskDaveTaylor Newsletter and you'll receive even more tech and gadget help right to your inbox, along with exclusive news and industry updates. It's good stuff. I promise!
    Enter your name: and your email addr:  





Categorized: iPod, Sony PSP and MP3 Player Help   (Article 6941, Written by )
Tagged: homebrew, limewire, p2p, sony psp
Previous: Can I create an Apache image directory browser script?
Next: How do I build a Google Co-op Custom Search Engine?




Reader Comments To Date: 8

Andrew Childress said, on October 24, 2006 2:08 PM:

Just wanted to add some stuff-

1) Even though these sites that offer PSP games SAY that they will work on any firmware, this is completely not true. Only firmware 1.5 is capable of ISO launching- fact, fact, fact.

2) You are 100% correct in saying that these sites are illegal. In fact, they are the lowest of the illegal sites. Not only are they illegal, but they make you pay for illegal services that can be had for free. Yeah, that's right- all that these sites are are indexings of .torrent trackers of PSP ISO's and videos and such.

3) You mentioned that it would be nice if there was a trustworthy PSP site. There are several download sites that are completely trustworthy, but the best is definitely dl.qj.net .

-Volsfan91

Anonymous said, on March 17, 2007 12:42 AM:

I know the sites are illegal but we dont really have a choice.I mean each gmae is $50 or above if not less.Can some one tell me a trustworthy source for games which contain no spyware,adware,viruses etc.

William said, on October 8, 2007 3:04 PM:

PSP Blender is fake if you guys didn't know you guys are making it sound confusing so I'll be saying it PSP Blender is a fake! They just bring you to a site to download utorrent which you can get for free, but don't use torrents use www.pspiso.com =D

Peeter Keek said, on October 14, 2007 9:53 AM:

Hello
i'm surprized that you comment sites like pspblender so softly.
they are total scam and i (and all other thousand fools) would be happy if you'd warn on your site not to sign up there.
they simply charge money for p2p links.

many thanks
Peeter
(ripped online for a first time)

Juliet Easton said, on December 27, 2007 7:55 PM:

Thank you for helping me show my son that PSP blender is not a legal way to obtain PSP games and that if something sounds too good to be true it usually is.

Raedy said, on October 4, 2008 10:07 AM:

thanks for the answer dave, finally i knew that those site are illegal, and you're right p2p is free why we have to buy it from them..thx

No Xplode said, on October 14, 2008 9:28 AM:

"Hello
i'm surprized that you comment sites like pspblender so softly.
they are total [...]
they simply charge money for p2p links.

Peeter
(ripped online for a first time)"

Hello, i don't want to defend those sites but as far as i know they offer, a no question asked money back guarantee. Clarify it if i'm wrong.

Regards Mario

Richard said, on November 14, 2008 7:54 AM:

Interesting Article.

Just caught my eye amongst all the other many emails that I receive. Just 200 Today..

Just this morning I have received an email from Clickbank/Paypal Informing me that I have been Refunded a payment I made to a fraudulent outfit. This was good news for me as it was the first time that I felt I had been really scammed, stitched up, ripped off. I feel that I really must try to inform others of this site, despite the plausibility of the site information, believe me it is a scam, and I feel that I have been very fortunate in receiving a refund. Perhaps from them, for which I will give credit if this is indeed the case, or maybe from Pay Pal, I don't know at this stage.And will be relieved when I see it on my bank statement.
Re: If it sounds to good to be true it usually is. Although we all would like to think that just once we may have found a bargain.

This Site goes under the name of PSP Blender and claims to provide downloads of Playstation games and movies for a one of payment of £24.08 although when you actually make the payment the Total Becomes £29.46 as taxes are added, by then it's to late as you have already completed the transaction.

After receiving my login information, I found that the main site which offers the games etc would not let me in, showing an error message and password not recognised, I have tried this on several occasions and can only gain access to a forum which gives some very brief information and a link to Microtorrent Peer-to-Peer downloading client software. Go download it,s peer-to-peer. Anyone can do this, it's a free programme anyway. The deception goes on. The games do not work, they are pirated copies on p2p Networks.

This is my story.. Beware

Starbucks coffee cup I do have a lot to say, and questions of my own for that matter, but first I'd like to say thank you, Dave, for all your helpful information by buying you a cup of coffee!

I do have a comment, now that you mention it!











I will never send you any unsolicited email. Ever.






Check This Out Too...

 
Look for Answers
Need Help? Ask Dave Taylor!


Follow Me on Pinterest

Find Me on Google+
ADT on G+
© 2002 - 2013 by Dave Taylor. All Rights Reserved.

Note: This web site is for the purpose of disseminating information for educational purposes, free of charge, for the benefit of all visitors. We take great care to provide quality information. However, we do not guarantee, and accept no legal liability whatsoever arising from or connected to, the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of any material contained on this web site or on any linked site. Further, please note that by submitting a question or comment you're agreeing to my terms of service, which are: you relinquish any subsequent rights of ownership to your material by submitting it on this site. My lawyer says "Thanks".
"Ask Dave Taylor®" is a registered trademark of Intuitive Systems, LLC.